Wednesday, February 13th, 2013 Focus: When people are bugging me, I ask myself, ‘What can I do that will help them?’

Our natural expression is Love. Any other expression we find ourselves in is just a warp of our true identity.

One of the great things I learned from Tibetan Buddhism is that we pursue enlightenment not for ourselves, but so we can help others wake up, help others move beyond their suffering and difficulty. This value is quite different than what we have here in our culture where we think mostly in terms of ‘I’m better than you are’ or ‘I’m going to be enlightened before you are.’

There’s a great, great Buddhist practice of praying that others will wake up before you do. Boy! Does this ever change your relationship with the people who are bugging you! You begin to ask, ‘What can I do that will help them?’ It’s a very powerful meditation.

Excerpted from the article:   
No One Is An Island: We Are Companions, Not Competitors  —  by Margaret Wolff.

One thought on “Wednesday, February 13th, 2013 Focus: When people are bugging me, I ask myself, ‘What can I do that will help them?’

  1. Jamie Lebish says:

    G_d, Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the power to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.

Leave a Reply

