Thursday, July 5th, 2012 Focus: I celebrate what I have & make the best of it.

My mentor Hilda Charlton lived in India for eighteen years. She told me that some people in that country are so poor that if they get a tin can they appreciate it as a treasure. They use it over and over again and cherish it.

By contrast, I know people who have extraordinary volumes of stuff, but appreciate them little. Who is closer to heaven?

I’m not suggesting that we need to live poor or labor under lack or limits. I am suggesting that we need to celebrate what we have and make the best use of it. A woman asked me the difference between right use and consumption. I told her that if you value what you have and use it to help yourself or others, that is right use.

Excerpted from: The Paint Can of Life: Empty or Full? by Alan Cohen.

Read more of this article here.
<a href=”http://innerself.com/content/index.php?option=com_acymailing&no_html=1&ctrl=url&urlid=201&mailid=80&subid=7395“>AOL click here</a>

Forward today’s Daily to a friend! Share the blessings 🙂
//

Leave a Reply

